Phew – New Decade


Label: Mute – 5400863055141
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Released: Oct 22, 2021
Genre: Electronic
Style: Experimental


SKU 5400863055141 Categories, ,


Phew – New Decade

The renowned avant-garde artist Phew has returned to Mute for her forthcoming album, ‘New Decade’. Working with voice and electronics, ‘New Decade”s six new tracks define her as a master of her craft.

Described by pitchfork as “a Japanese underground legend,” Phew was a founding member of Osaka punk band Aunt Sally, who broke up in 1980. Since then, she has worked solo and collaborated with musical luminaries including as Ryuichi Sakamoto, Jim O’Rourke, Ana da Silva (The Raincoats), Seiichi Yamamoto (Boredoms) and Holger Czukay (Can).

Phew’s 1992 album for Mute, ‘Our Likeness’, featured Alexander Hacke (Hackedepicciotto, Einstruzende Neubauten), Jaki Liebezeit (Can) and Chrislo Haas (Crime & the City Solution, DAF, Liaisons Dangereuses).

To discover more from the same genre as Phew – New Decade click here


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Phew – New Decade”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *