The Black Keys – Delta Kream


or 4 fortnightly payments of $17.50 with Afterpay More info

Label: Nonesuch– 0075597916881
Format: 2 x Vinyl, LP, Album
Genre: Rock, Blues
Style: Blues Rock


The Black Keys – Delta Kream

The album celebrates the band’s roots and is a celebration of their early inspiration.

Dan Auerbach says, “We made this record to honor the Mississippi hill country blues tradition that influenced us starting out. These songs are still as important to us today as they were the first day Pat and I started playing together and picked up our instruments. It was a very inspiring session with Pat and me, along with Kenny Brown and Eric Deaton, in a circle, playing these songs. It felt so natural.”

Patrick Carney adds, “The session was planned only days in advance and nothing was rehearsed. We recorded the entire album in about 10 hours, over two afternoons at the end of the “Let’s Rock” tour.”

The music from Mississippi, which came to life in juke joints, has long left an imprint on the band’s music, from their cover of R. L. Burnside “Busted” and Junior Kimbrough’s “Do The Romp” on their debut album, The Big Come Up, their subsequent signing to Fat Possum Records, home to many of their musical heroes, and their EP of Junior Kimbrough covers, Chulahoma. For this album, Auerbach and Carney recorded the 11 songs at Auerbach’s Easy Eye Sound studio in Nashville, and were joined by celebrated session musicians Brown and Deaton, long-time members of the bands of, amongst others, R. L. Burnside and Junior Kimbrough, who originated much of material that inspired Delta Kream. The album derives its name from an iconic photograph by William Eggleston.

Formed in Akron, Ohio in 2001, The Black Keys have released nine studio albums: their debut The Big Come Up (2002), followed by Thickfreakness (2003) and Rubber Factory (2004), along with their releases on Nonesuch Records, Magic Potion (2006), Attack & Release (2008), Brothers (2010), El Camino (2011), Turn Blue (2014) and, most recently, “Let’s Rock” (2019) and a 10th anniversary edition of Brothers (2020). The band has won six Grammy Awards and headlined festivals including Coachella, Lollapalooza, and Governors Ball.

To discover more from the same genre as The Black Keys – Delta Kream click here


  • 1. Crawling Kingsnake (John Lee Hooker / Bernard Besman)
  • 2. Louise (Fred McDowell)
  • 3. Poor Boy a Long Way From Home (Robert Lee Burnside)
  • 4. Stay All Night (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
  • 5. Going Down South (Robert Lee Burnside)
  • 6. Coal Black Mattie (Ranie Burnette)
  • 7. Do the Romp (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
  • 8. Sad Days, Lonely Nights (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
  • 9. Walk with Me (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
  • 10. Mellow Peaches (Joseph Lee Williams)
  • 11. Come on and Go with Me (David Kimbrough, Jr.)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Black Keys – Delta Kream”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *